Inca Babies announce Swamp Street Soul album – listen here

Inca Babies album artwork

Inca Babies announce Swamp Street Soul album

The story of the Inca Babies began in the now-legendary deck access flats of Hulme in Manchester. Here in 1984 they released their debut single Interior on the bands own Black Lagoon label, and were part of the early post punk / goth /death rock scene. Over the next five years they released a further six singles and four albums, all of which entered the UK Indie Charts, as the band built a strong following; they also recorded a total of four sessions for the legendary John Peel show before folding in 1988.

Reforming in 2007 they have proceeded to release three albums and toured extensively around Europe and into Russia. Now, they are set to release their 8th studio album entitled Swamp Street Soul, again via their own Black Lagoon label. An eleven track album which includes a re-visitation of Crawling Garage Gasoline, which was originally released on the Surfin’ in Locustland EP back in 1985 and was also broadcast as part of the bands third John Peel session in June that year.

Swamp Street Soul is set for release on CD and LP (vinyl is delayed) on the 23rd November 2021, and is available for pre-order via Bandcamp. Lead track Walk In The Park is available to stream now:


Founder and frontman Harry Stafford said of the release “Swamp Street Soul takes you across a tightly euphoric path of differing moods and new arenas of guitar song writing. The album continues the Inca Babies explosive exploration of Goth punk and trash blues sharing space with death rock grunge and cautionary ballads. Yeah!

Track List:
1. Swamp Street Soul
2. Walk in the Park
3. Slingshot
4. Dear English Journalists
5. Crawling Garage Gasoline
6. Bigger Than All Of Us
7. I’m Grounded
8. Oh, the Angels how I bless them
9. Windshield Gnat
10. Mine of Bones
11. Swamp Soul Dub

Immediately ahead of the release Inca Babies are set to play at Westgarth Social Club, Middlesbrough on Friday 19th November as part of the Peel Regenerated night alongside 1919, The Wolfhounds, Rudi Betamax & TSTP. Advance tickets are available now via the Event Page.

Inca Babies online:


More writing by Phil can be found at his Louder Than War Author’s Archive

Leave a Reply